World Diabetes Month

Photo by Nataliya Vaitkevich on Pexels.com

The other day, a friend reminded me that I no longer write. I think he meant that I did not update my blog anymore because I am a freelance writer. I write. I may have neglected posting my opinions here and hoping all you people read, at the edge of your seats, furiously turning pages. Well, furiously scrolling. Anyway, it is November and Diabetes is a big issue for many people and institutions.

I have never really openly talked about being diabetic. My main reason is that I did not want to be treated differently. It can be upsetting to tell your new friends about your condition and their faces go all sad emoji and they start looking at you with an understanding facial expression. It is a very unique facial contortion that even the emoji people do not have a graphic for it. I just want to be ordinary and have people ask me to do things that they would ask anyone else to do. You can see I can be difficult, and yes, I have helped an overworked doctor lose their temper once or twice and maybe made an intern cry. Yes, I am equal parts diabetic and pain in the ass.

Where was I going with this?

November. Diabetes Awareness Month. According to the International Diabetes Federation (yes that is a thing), 537 million people are living with Diabetes. That means 1 in every 10 people in the world has diabetes. Out of every 5 people living with diabetes 4 live in low and middle-income countries. 6.7 million deaths in 2021 were caused by diabetes. Diabetes comes in three forms; Type1, Type2, and gestational diabetes. It is not known what causes type1 diabetes but it often starts in childhood and is thought to be genetic.

Type2 diabetes is often a result of a lack of physical activity and weight gain. Gestational diabetes occurs when one is pregnant and resolves after birth. That said, women who have gestational diabetes are at a higher risk of developing Type2 diabetes than those who do not. According to the World Health Organisation, 3.3% of the Kenyan population is living with diabetes. A large number of these people are undiagnosed.

Why is diabetes bad?

I was diagnosed with diabetes when I was 15. I had lost so much weight and could barely walk. I was on holiday from school and my mum thought I needed soup but that did not fatten me up. It also did not help with my thirst. I was waking up in the middle of the night to look for water and you know pee a lot *sigh* diabetes. But I had never really heard of diabetes and to most people in my village that was an old people affliction. I remember my nurse telling me not to catch a cold. I did not know how sick I could get until I did catch the common cold.

To begin with, diabetes is bad because it compromises your immunity, remember COVID last year. But what is actually scary about diabetes is the damage it causes when your blood sugars are uncontrolled. Healthy blood sugar should be between 4 and 7mmol/L before meals and 9mmol/L for Type1 and 8.5mmol/L for Type2 after meals. Higher numbers signal uncontrolled diabetes and often result in eye problems, kidney problems, cardiovascular problems, nerve damage among others.

Prevention

Although you may not be able to prevent Type1 diabetes, you can reduce your risk of developing Type2 by using the following tips.

  • Exercise regularly
  • Cut down on sugary food and carbohydrates
  • Drink water instead of sugary beverages like soda
  • Lose weight if you are obese or overweight
  • Stop smoking
  • Watch portion sizes
  • Avoid sedentary behaviour
  • Consider eating a high fiber diet

These tips can help improve your general health and prevent diabetes. If you already have Type 2 or 1 diabetes following the doctor´s instructions and taking all your medicine is a good choice.

The Diabetes Down

If you recently got diagnosed, it can be a disheartening experience. It however does not mean that you cannot live your life to the fullest. Diabetes is only a small part of who you are and it should not take over your entire being. You can still get the job you always wanted, travel, and marry the woman/man of your dreams. Yes, some days you will feel miserable about your diabetes and cry yourself to sleep. Yes, some days you will have problems getting your sugars under control. And yes, at some point you will get an infection and you will feel like death warmed over. Everyone with diabetes or without diabetes has bad and good days. You cannot afford to disappear into a cocoon just because your pancreas has an attitude. Tie your blue ribbon, and use Diab Fu to beat Diabetes. Mama believes in you.

Resources

Published by karrymi

Life is about faith, I have faith, that something good is going to happen. Also cowboys and country songs make me wanna be in love, and sit on some old truck and watch the stars play my favourite song...

Leave a comment