FOOD AND FOODIES

 

The only time to eat diet food is while you are waiting for a steak to cook. Julia Childs

I love to cook. I love cooking. It’s the best way I can relax after a hard day at work. Ok ladies, put down the pitchforks, I am not anything that begins with a B in this instance, I enjoy it like you enjoy make up or shopping. Cooking is art and to quote that French dude in Transporter (the movie) “the only thing between you and a good meal is imagination”. Maybe I paraphrased but you get the point. I melt for the look of pure delight I see in people’s eyes when they take a bite of something that tastes good. I like to feed people it’s probably up their with how much I like to hear people praise me. What? I am an artist its, psychologically that is expected. Of course that might point to the fact that I can be a people pleaser.

Right, there is a point to this and I’m getting to it. See in the search of new culinary delights I decided to get a cookbook free off the Internet (Yes! I am a cheap). The kitchen for me and the things in it including cookbooks represent nourishment, a full stomach, happy taste-buds. Those cookbooks described food that sounded horribly food-less.

“Every recipe you will find here is free of gluten, wheat, soy, eggs, dairy, nuts, tree nuts, fish, shellfish and oats.”So eh, whats in it? I am a big eater so all I could see was how hungry I was going to be 30 minutes after the gluten free, wheat free, eggs free supper.I am a midnight snack kind of girl. With this type of “food ” I would be snacking all night.

I am not ignorant as regards allergies but you tell me what would that food be made of. Vegetables and fruits? I will starve, granted it might be delicious but Lord it brings back my mother’s steamed cabbage and unsalted beans. If you have health issues for instance I can’t have sugar or as much carb as I would like or have allergies sure. Tell me why else anyone would cook and eat the food that lacketh food. One can’t be allergic to all these things. So I Believe its for dieters mostly, you know so you weigh as little as possible but all I am wondering is wouldn’t you be constantly hungry and end up eating and gaining more weight? Maybe I just have a large appetite and have never worried about weight so I can’t empathize.

About karrymi

Life is about faith, I have faith, that something good is going to happen. Also cowboys and country songs make me wanna be in love, and sit on some old truck and watch the stars play my favourite song...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

