Battling writers block

I have never considered myself a writer. I don’t really write anything beyond stuff for school and more often than not it’s about Ngugi Wa Thiong’o and trust me I have gazzilions to say on the subject. For a guy who is more of  a preacher than an entertainer in his novels he can keep on writing and writing about an Africa he does not live in. Sorry, that is a story for another day. Apart from my rambling up in here I  generally do not write to move, unless the movement is towards a better grade in some African literature course.

Fortunately or unfortunately I love my students and made a promise, albeit a hasty one, to the drama teacher to provide a skit of some sort but I am stuck. Nothing seems to come to me. See, you know you are having trouble with writing if you have just spent 30 minutes of your alloted writing time choosing a font. As in there is so much to choose from you try Lucida but you don’t know whether italics will be best so you  try that, maybe it will look better in bold, maybe we could underline. Then you move to the Lucida Handwring and apply this same very delicate decision making procedure.  After a while you notice you are really tired and it’s time to eat, watch Shark Tank then go to sleep.

You keep wondering why you were so full of funny stories and hilarious anecdotes before you made the promise or got the deadline. Where are they? You try some stretches to fire up the imagination, guzzle a liter of coffee to speed up the brain. BIG NOTHING!!

So I am worried that I am suffering writers block or well a people like me writing block. Which is sad because if the skit could be about writers block and not corruption then this post would have done nicely. I am going off to try fruit and a good night’s rest but if you guys have better ideas I will try anything. Once.

About karrymi

Life is about faith, I have faith, that something good is going to happen. Also cowboys and country songs make me wanna be in love, and sit on some old truck and watch the stars play my favourite song...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

