Shoes

Marilyn once said “give a girl a pair of shoes and she can conquer the world”
image
I think she was amazing a little crazy but amazing still I guess like all beautiful people who can sing.
But the shoes thing is my point, we all need them. Not just the beautiful little girls or women the men too need shoes.

As in, the shoe gives the foot character I mean a person’s shoes can inform your opinion of them. Are they careless or carefree, refined or the opposite of that, shoes tell those around you that you have fallen into hard times or that your great expectations are here.

Shoes keep the foot from harm. Protect you from thorns, broken glass, dirt and of course jiggers (yes I went to public school).

Shoes make the foot beautiful, elegant even. I don’t know whether you have looked at a strangers feet and known for sure they would be good looking even if they were carribean pirates in a ghost boat.

Now lets be clear I dont have a fetish or anything but today Marilyn made me think a lot about shoes. Also I lost a heel and I can be a bit obsessive so you know… point is it made me think that her words could have been metaphorical. Yes I know am obsessive I am getting help.

See my shoes are what helps me conquer my days. A pair of heels gives me that much needed confidence boost and in the evening those stillettos give that bit of sexy… My running shoes help me stay healthy. My very many flats mean I can teach 10 classes without breaking a sweat.

Think of all the stuff in your life that you couldn’t do without shoes.
Think of that worn out pair you wont give away because it feels like home, the one you walk off your sorrows in, that feels like a hug…

That’s the kind of friend I want. One who holds me up, makes me look good, walks with me when am sad, tells me I can do anything when Monday and my boss is killing my confidence and one who wants to keep me safe.
To me that’s what a girl needs to conquer the world and Marilyn’s metaphor.

I think Jesus and God are the only ones capable of unconditional, unfailing love but if you claim to love God then maybe you shouldnt have trouble being someone’s shoe.

About karrymi

Life is about faith, I have faith, that something good is going to happen. Also cowboys and country songs make me wanna be in love, and sit on some old truck and watch the stars play my favourite song...
This entry was posted in Church and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

